SEA OF THIEVES Is Holding A Worldwide Digital Treasure Hunt

sea-of-thieves.jpg

In anticipation of the launch of Sea of Thieves on March 20, 2018, Microsoft is hosting a worldwide digital treasure hunt called The Quest, where participants will have the chance to take home one out of four UK Hallmarked 18-carat golden bananas. 

The treasure hunt was revealed during the first episode of Microsoft’s new streaming show, Inside Xbox. The prize was made by London goldsmith Smith & Harris, who created four golden bananas modeled after the iconic health item in Sea of Thieves. Each of the bananas is valued at £20,000 a piece. 

The Quest will commence one day before the game’s release on Monday, March 19, 2018 at 1am PT/4:00am ET/8:00am UK/7:00pm AET. In total, 15 riddles will be given out for participants to solve, with a new clue to be released in a span of 3-4 hours over three days. On Wednesday, March 21, players will be given seven hours to crack the riddles and submit their answers. 

The riddles will be mostly distributed online, however others will be scattered in several real-world locations including London, UK; Key West, Florida;  Sydney, Australia; Paris, France; Berlin, Germany; and Victoria, Canada. The first team from each country mentioned above to answer the riddles correctly, will then move onto the next round to answer the last riddle on March 22. If you’re interested to participate, you can register your team here

Sea of Thieves will be launched for PC and the Xbox One on March 20.

What do you think about the global treasure hunt Microsoft is hosting? Will you participate? Share your thoughts in the comments below.